Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administration: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Lease: +7 (905) 519 99 50
Ticket Office: +7 (495) 917 17 99 (с 12:00 до 20:00)
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru, arenda@winzavod.ru
Exhibitions

Collective exhibition
Cover Version

02 March — 08 April 2022
6 U Contemporary

Collective exhibition
Cover Version

Young artists show cover versions of world masterpieces of contemporary art.

The educational model of artistic training has often included copying of works in museums. Students of the Foundation Art & Design programme present their cover versions of works by Marina Abramovic and Ulay, Kurt Buchwald, Maurizio Cattelan, Gilbert & George, Gary Hill, Donald Judd, Joseph Kosuth and others.

For the past four years, students from the Foundation Art&Design course at the British Higher School of Design have been tasked to explore a specific aspect of visual art practice. Next, through that research they were to choose the work in order to reproduce it. The young artists were conducting this research in groups of three to four students during the first week of training, then they had three days to do the research and make pecha kucha presentation on one aspect of fine art practice (video, performance, collaboration, drawing, etc.), which they presented to the rest of the group. They also were to  remake the core work from their research for a group exhibition. This exhibition at Blip Blip Blip is a selection of cover versions that students have made in response to this project over the past four years.

Vincent van Gogh made many copies of Millet's works and considered them much the same as a musician's interpretation of the composer's original scores. Pablo Picasso created a whole series of sketches for Diego Velazquez's Las Meninas. One of the most widely reproduced paintings in art history is Leonardo La Vinci's Mona Lisa: it was replicated, inter alia, by Andy Warhol and Marcel Duchamp. Canadian photographer Jeff Wall made a work based on the Japanese artist and printmaker Hokusai. In 2005’s Seven Easy Pieces, Marina Abramovic recreated a series of original performances from the 1960s and 70s created by her peers, including Joseph Beuys, Vito Acconci, VALIE EXPORT, Gina Pane and Bruce Nauman.

A similar act of redefining or copying is popular in other art forms, often as a tribute to another artist or his work. In movies, it is called a remake. Jean-Luc Godard’s 1960 film Breathless was remade in 1983 by Jim McBride. The 1960 American Western The Magnificent Seven, directed by John Sturges, was remade in 2016 by Antoine Fuqua, but Sturges' The Magnificent Seven was itself a remake of Akira Kurosawa's 1954 Seven Samurai, set in Japan.

In the music industry, the production of cover versions is also a tribute to famous songs and musicians. Bob Dylan's double album Self-Portrait consists only of covers.

Gertrude Stein, in The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas, is talking about potential learning through rewriting: “You can't tell what a book is until you retype and proofread it. It's like brushing things, you see what they're worth and no amount of close reading compares to that.” Walter Benjamin extends this thought in his text Chinese Curios:

“The strength of a country road is different when you walk it and when you fly by plane. Similarly, the power of text is different when reading and copying. The passenger of the plane sees only how the road appears through the landscape, how it unfolds according to the same laws as the surrounding area. Only the one who walks along the road on foot will know about the power that it possesses... Only the rewritten text commands the soul of the one who is occupied with it, while the simple reader never discovers new sides of his inner self, opened by the text, this road cuts through the inner jungle that closes forever behind him: because the reader follows the movement of his mind in the free flight of dreams, while the copier obeys his orders.”

Artists: Alexandra Benyumova and Sofia Salimzyanova; Arina Kassina, Anna Neopulo and Vlada Fadeeva; Arina Grinevich; Maria Istomina and Maria Ponomareva; Mishelle Ashurova, Valeria Orishak and Maria Tsygankova; Veronika Bedova, Anna Kulakova and David Saribekyan; Marina Koshlina; Inga Allakova, Natalia Chernova and Daria Mikhaylova; Eva Baranova, Ekaterina Faldina, Olga Melnikova and Adam Scherer; Alexandra Bolshakova, Maria Danilova, Raisa Kudasheva, Sasha Kudelnikova and Luis Perez; Hava Amirkhanova, Nazira Berikbay, Elena Felofyanova and Daria Tsyselskaya; Varvara Nosova, Ekaterina Spektor, Arina Zhukovskaya and Olga Zimina; Anna Knyazeva, Milissa Leviashvili, Marya Rudenko and Roza Shamshieva; Margarita Rozenberg and Irina Zharina.

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Аренда: +7 (905) 519 99 50
Кассы: +7 (495) 917 17 99 (с 12:00 до 20:00)
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru, arenda@winzavod.ru
Выставка

Коллективная выставка
Cover Version

02 Марта — 08 Апреля 2022
6 U Contemporary

Коллективная выставка
Cover Version

Молодые художники показывают кавер-версии мировых шедевров современного искусства.

Образовательная модель художественного образования часто включала и включает себя копирование работ в музеях. Студенты программы Foundation Art & Design представляют свои кавер-версии произведений Марины Абрамович и Улая, Курта Бухвальда, Маурицио Каттелана, Гилберта и Джорджа, Гари Хилла, Дональда Джадда, Джозефа Кошута и других.

В течение последних четырех лет студенты курса Foundation Art&Design Британской высшей школы дизайна получали задание исследовать конкретный аспект практики изобразительного искусства и посредством этого исследования выбрать работу, которую они будут переделывать. Молодые художники проводили это исследование в группах из трех-четырех студентов в течение первой недели обучения, потом у них было три дня, чтобы провести исследование и подготовить презентацию pecha kucha об аспекте практики изобразительного искусства (видео, перформанс, сотрудничество, рисование и т. д.), которую они представят остальной группе, а также переделать основную работу из их исследований для групповой выставки. Эта выставка в Blip Blip Blip представляет собой подборку кавер-версий, которые студенты сделали в ответ на этот проект за последние четыре года.

Винсент Ван Гог сделал много копий произведений Милле и считал их похожими на интерпретацию музыкантом партитуры композитора. Пабло Пикассо создал целую серию этюдов картины «Менины» Диего Веласкеса. Одна из самых «воспроизводимых»  картин это «Мона Лиза»  Леонардо ла Винчи, ее изображали Энди Уорхол и Марсель Дюшан. Канадский фотограф Джефф Уолл сделал работу по мотивам японского художника и гравера Хокусая. В «Семи легких пьесах» 2005 года Марина Абрамович воссоздает серию оригинальных перформансов 1960-х и 70-х годов, созданных ее сверстниками, включая Йозефа Бойса, Вито Аккончи, VALIE EXPORT, Джину Пейн и Брюса Наумана.

Похожий акт переосмысления или копирования популярен и в других формах искусства часто как дань уважения другому художнику или работе. В кино это называется ремейк. Фильм Жан-Люка Годара 1960 года «На последнем дыхании» был переделан в 1983 году Джимом Макбрайдом. Американский вестерн 1960 года «Великолепная семерка» режиссера Джона Стерджеса был переделан в 2016 году Антуаном Фукуа, однако «Великолепная семерка» Стерджеса сама по себе была ремейком «Семи самураев» Акиры Куросавы 1954 года, действие которого происходит в Японии. 

В музыкальной индустрии производство кавер-версий тоже является данью уважения известным песням и музыкантам. Двойной альбом Боба Дилана «Self-Portrait» состоит только из каверов.

Гертруда Стайн в «Автобиографии Алисы Б. Токлас» говорит про потенциальное обучение через переделку: «Вы не можете сказать, что такое книга, пока не перепечатаете и не вычитаете ее. Это как чистить вещи щеткой, ты видишь чего они стоят и никакое пристальное чтение с этим не сравнится». Вальтер Беньямин продолжает эту мысль в своем тексте «Китайские диковинки»:

«Сила проселочной дороги отличается, когда проходишь ее пешком, и когда пролетаешь на самолете. Точно так же сила текста отличается при чтении и при копировании. Пассажир самолета видит только то, как дорога проявляется сквозь ландшафт, как она разворачивается по тем же законам, что и окружающая ее местность. Только тот, кто идет по дороге пешком, узнает о силе, которой она обладает... Только переписанный текст повелевает душой того, кто им занят, тогда как простой читатель никогда не открывает новых сторон своего внутреннего «я», открываемых текст, эта дорога прорезает внутренние джунгли, навсегда закрывающиеся за ним: потому что читатель следует за движением своего разума в свободном полете мечтаний, тогда как копировальный аппарат подчиняется его приказам».

Участники: Александра Бенюмова и  Софья Салимзянова, Арина Кассина, Анна Неопуло и Влада Фадеева, Арина Гриневич, Мария Истомина и Мария Пономарева, Мишель Ашурова, Валерия Оришак и Мария Цыганкова, Вероника Бедова, Анна Кулакова и Давид Сарибекян, Марина Кошлина, Инга Аллакова, Наталия Чернова и Дарья Михайлова,  Ева Баранова, Екатерина Фалдина, Ольга Мельникова и Адам Шерер, Александра Большакова, Мария Данилова, Раиса Кудашева, Саша Кудельникова и Луис Перез, Хава Амирханова, Назира Берикбай, Елена Фелофьянова и Дарья Цисельская, Варвара Носова, Екатерина Спектор, Арина Жуковская и Ольга Зимина, Анна Князева, Милисса Левиашвили, Марья Руденко и Роза Шамшиева, Маргарита Розенберг и Ирина Жарина.