Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administration: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Lease: +7 (905) 519 99 50
Ticket Office: +7 (495) 917 17 99 (с 12:00 до 20:00)
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru, arenda@winzavod.ru
Exhibitions

Rik De Boe
Keep away from open windows

03 December — 14 January 2020
23 pop/off/art gallery

Rik De Boe
Keep away from open windows

16+

pop/off/art gallery presents the first solo exhibition of Belgian artist Rik De Boe in Russia. The artist, whose style has developed over decades, is well-known for his realistic charcoal drawings.

All the images created by De Boe are based on the photographs taken by the artist. He focuses on details of the masterpieces from Johannes Vermeer to Piete Mondrian, as well as on insignificant elements of interior, architecture and daily objects, structural visual patterns, which the artist then converts into atmospheric multi-layered technically complicated drawings. Rik De Boe views masterpieces as taken in a context of modern pop culture constantly reproducing visual information in photo and video. Rik seems to pause this process inviting a viewer to live the history of art not dividing it on ‘classic’ and ‘contemporary’. Unexpected angle and cropped composition accord not only cinematographic effect, but also a sense of unity with the author's view on the world. In his analytical art De Boe extends the frontiers of realistic image. Showing an illusiveness of an image he removes the boundaries of empirical world and abstract image.

The gallery hall will be divided by an installation reconstructing the wall from artist’s studio. More than fifty works from different series will be included in the exposition. Though, the main core of the exhibition is based on drawings created during De Boe’s journey to Russia organized by pop/off/art gallery last year. Rik De Boe has visited many museums and art centers focusing on oeuvres of Russian Avant Garde that resembled his own aesthetics. This project shows the closeness of Russian and European Avant Garde, its museum contexts appeared during last century, and becomes an homage to De Boe’s favorite artists – Kazimir Malevich and Mikhail Matushin.

Rik De Boe was born in 1964 in Ninove, Belgium. He graduated from Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Ghent in 1988. After that he studied at Higher technical institute Sint-Antonius in Ghent (1989–1991). He was awarded the 1st Prize for graphic arts, Flanders (1985, 1988) and the 1st Prize Jacques De Leger (1994). He teaches graphic and drawing at Academy of Fine Arts, Brussel since 1990. From 2007 to 2013 he was a professor for drawing at Royal Academy of Fine Arts, Ghent. Together with an artist Peter Morrens Rik de Boe founded and curated an artist-run space Voorkamer in Lier, Belgium (1996-2016). The main objective of the venue was to support of artistic initiatives of international artists with different background. In 2015 on the basis of Voorkamer Rik De Boe founded GARAGE NEVEN in Ninove.

His works has been presented all over the world, including Moscow museum of modern art among others. His works can be found in many important collections such as VIZO Collection (Brussels. Belgium), Center for contemporary art Netwerk Aalst, ARGOS centre for audiovisual arts, and in many private European collections. He lives and works in Ninove, Belgium.

This project is organized in collaboration with Sofie Van de Velde gallery (Antwerp), that won European Gallery Award from The Federation of European Art Galleries Association in 2018.

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Аренда: +7 (495) 023 28 57
Кассы: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Выставка

Рик де Бу
Остерегайтесь открытых окон

03 Декабря — 14 Января 2020
23 Галерея pop/off/art
03 Декабря —
14 Января 2020
23 Галерея pop/off/art
Режим работы:

12:00 — 20:00

Пн
Вт
Ср
Чт
Пт
Сб
Вс

Бесплатно

Рик де Бу
Остерегайтесь открытых окон

16+

Галерея pop/off/art представляет первую в России персональную выставку Рика де Бу, бельгийского художника с узнаваемым, выработанным десятилетиями стилем – реалистической черно-белой графикой, созданной преимущественно углем на бумаге.

В основе всех изображений лежит авторская фотография де Бу. В фокусе его снимков оказываются детали шедевров мирового искусства от Яна Вермеера Дельфтского до Пита Мондриана, элементы архитектуры и быта, структурные визуальные паттерны, которые художник преобразует в многослойные, технически сложные рисунки. Автор предлагает зрителю взглянуть на знаменитые творения в контексте современной массовой культуры, предполагающей непрестанное воспроизведение визуальной информации в фотографиях и видео. Рик словно ставит этот процесс на паузу, предлагая глубоко личностно пережить историю искусства, в которой нет деления на «классическое» и «современное». Необычные ракурсы и кадрированные композиции придают его работам кинематографический эффект и чувство единения с авторским взглядом на предметный мир. В своем аналитическом творчестве Рик де Бу расширяет границы понимания реалистического изображения; добиваясь иллюзорности он, парадоксальным образом, устраняет границы эмпирического мира и абстрактного образа.

Пространство галереи будет разделено инсталляцией, реконструирующей одну из стен мастерской художника. В экспозицию войдет свыше пятидесяти графических листов из нескольких циклов последних лет. Однако основу составят несколько десятков работ, выполненных в результате прошлогодней поездки в Россию, организованной галереей pop/off/art. Рик де Бу посетил множество музеев и центров искусства, фокусируясь на близких ему эстетически произведениях русского авангарда. Выставка в том числе рассказывает о близости русского и европейского авангарда, о его возникших за столетие музейных контекстах, и является своеобразным оммажем современного художника его любимым авторам, в числе которых Казимир Малевич и Михаил Матюшин.

Рик де Бу родился в городе Нинова, Бельгия, в 1964 году. Получил образование в Академии художеств в Генте (1982-1988), в Гентском Техническом университете Sint-Antonius (1989-1991). Обладатель нескольких важных премий в области изобразительного искусства Бельгии: премия 1-й категории по изобразительному искусству, Фландрия (1985, 1988), премия 1-й категории Jacques De Leger (1994). С 1990 года преподает рисунок в Академии художеств в Брюсселе. С 2007 по 2013 – приглашенный профессор рисования в Академии художеств в Генте. Вместе с художником Питером Морренсом основал и курировал независимую выставочную площадку «Voorkamer» в Лире (Бельгия), цель которой была поддержка художественной инициативы международных авторов различных направлений (1996-2016). Работы Рика де Бу принимали участие во многих групповых выставках в галереях и музеях по всему миру, в том числе в Московском музее современного искусства (Москва). Произведения художника находятся в собрании VIZO Collection (Брюссель, Бельгия), в центрах современного искусства Netwerk Aalst (Алст, Бельгия) и Argos (Брюссель, Бельгия), во множестве значимых европейских частных коллекциях. Живет и работает в Нинове, Бельгия.

Выставка реализована в сотрудничестве с галереей Sofie van de Velde (Антверпен), которая в 2018 году получила приз European Gallery Award Ассоциации галерей Европы (FEAGA).