Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administration: +7 (495) 917 46 46, + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Lease: +7 (495) 803 33 33
Ticket Office: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Exhibitions

Ivan Novikov
Double-edged

12 September — 17 October 2018
23 pop/off/art gallery

Ivan Novikov
Double-edged

The pop/off/art Gallery opens the season with Ivan Novikov’s solo exhibition – a Russian artist who, though young, has already gained wide recognition. This is the artist’s third solo exhibition in the pop/off/art Gallery.

In his new project Novikov continues to study the postcolonial discourse, directly addressing the historical past of the USSR for the first time. The artist focuses on the consequences of the country's involvement in many conflicts around the world – from anti-colonial uprisings to civil wars: Soviet citizens have fought on various fronts far from the Motherland. The Communist Party explained its presence in Afghanistan, Egypt, Vietnam, Angola, and other countries, as fulfilling its so-called "international duty". Under the pretext of empathising with the proletariat of the world, a specific form of cultural and political hegemony was being realised, and the internationalist servicemen involuntarily turned out to be the colonial rearguard.

In his new project Ivan Novikov highlights the ambivalent position of the oppressor and the oppressed, the bearer of an alien culture and the representative of the traditional way of life, trying to understand decolonisation and answer the question of what exactly "international duty" means today.

The exhibition will feature paintings and objects. These works created by the artist in such art forms will show the viewer Novikov’s method that he calls "work in progress". A repeated iconographic refrain, a series of painting pieces executed in the artist’s unique style and small-scale sculptures, sorts of objects-sketches, – will become, in the format of an installation, a testimony to his ongoing study.

Ivan Novikov was born in 1990, graduated from the MGAHI n.a. V. I. Surikov and the Institute of Contemporary Art "Baza". He has had a number of solo exhibitions, among which are: "Why?" (START, CCA "Winzavod, 2011), "Lien Xo" (the pop/off/art Gallery, Moscow, 2016), "Shining Mycelium" (VCCA, Voronezh, 2016) and has participated in numerous important group projects such as Manifesta 10 (First Cadet Corps, St. Petersburg, 2014), "REPAIR" (ROT, Kassel, 2012), the 5th Moscow International Bienniale of Young Art (2016), the Triennial of Russian Contemporary Art ("Garage" Museum, Moscow, 2017). He was the winner of the "Garage" Museum grant programme (2015, 2016) and a nominee in the "Curator Project" category of the Innovation Award (2016). Ivan Novikov is a co-founder of the artist-run-space "Red Centre", teaches at the "Baza" Institute of Contemporary Art and curates independent exhibition projects. He is a member of the editorial board of the "Moscow Art Magazine". He lives and works in Moscow.

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46, + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Аренда: +7 (495) 803 33 33
Кассы: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Выставка

Иван Новиков
О двух концах

12 Сентября — 17 Октября 2018
23 Галерея pop/off/art
12 Сентября —
17 Октября 2018
23 Галерея pop/off/art
Режим работы:

12:00 — 20:00

Пн
Вт
Ср
Чт
Пт
Сб
Вс

Бесплатно

Иван Новиков
О двух концах

Галерея pop/off/art открывает сезон персональной выставкой Ивана Новикова – молодого, но уже успевшего получить широкую известность российского художника. Это третья персональная выставка художника в галерее pop/off/art.

В своем новом проекте Новиков продолжает исследовать постколониальный дискурс, впервые обращаясь непосредственно к историческому прошлому СССР. Предметом пристального внимания художника становятся последствия участия страны во множестве конфликтов по всему миру – от анти-колониальных восстаний до гражданских войн: граждане СССР воевали на самых разных фронтах вдали от Родины. Коммунистическая партия объясняла своё присутствие в Афганистане, Египте, Вьетнаме, Анголе и других странах так называемым «интернациональным долгом». Под предлогом  сопереживания мировому пролетариату осуществлялась специфическая форма культурной и политической гегемонии, а солдаты-интернационалисты не по своей воле оказывались в роли колониальных арьергардов.

Иван Новиков обозначает в своем новом проекте двойственную позицию угнетателя и угнетенного, носителя чуждой культуры и представителя традиционного жизненного уклада, пытаясь осознать опыт деколонизации и ответить на вопрос, что же такое Интернациональный долг сегодня.

На выставке будут представлены живопись, графика и объекты: произведения, созданные художником в этих медиа, позволят зрителю увидеть метод, который Новиков называет “work in progress”, работой в процессе. Повторяющийся иконографический рефрен, графическая серия, выполненная в оригинальной для автора манере, и скульптуры малых форм, своеобразные объекты-эскизы, станут инсталлятивным свидетельством продолжающегося исследования.

Иван Новиков родился в 1990 году, окончил МГАХИ им. В.И. Сурикова и институт современного искусства «База». Участник целого ряда персональных выставок, среди которых «Почему?» (СТАРТ, ЦСИ «Винзавод, 2011), «Льенсо» (галерея pop/off/art, Москва, 2016), «Сияющая грибница» (ВЦСИ, Воронеж, 2016) и множества таких значимых групповых проектов, как Manifesta 10 (Первый кадетский корпус, Санкт-Петербург, 2014), «РЕМОНТ» (РОТ, Кассель, 2012), V Московская международная биеннале молодого искусства (2016), Триеннале российского современного искусства (музей «Гараж», Москва, 2017). Победитель грантовой программы музея «Гараж» (2015, 2016) и номинант премии «Инновация» в номинации «Кураторский проект» (2016), Иван Новиков является сооснователем artist-run-space «Центр Красный», преподает в институте современного искусства «База» и курирует независимые выставочные проекты. Член редакционного совета «Художественного Журнала».  Живет и работает в Москве.