Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administration: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Lease: +7 (495) 023 28 57
Ticket Office: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Exhibitions

Alexander Tsikarishvili
FUNNY SOIL FRUTTI LAND

03 December — 03 March 2020
22 OVCHARENKO Gallery

Alexander Tsikarishvili
FUNNY SOIL FRUTTI LAND

16+
On December 3 OVCHARENKO gallery opened a personal exhibition of Alexander Tsikarishvili, one of the founders and leader of the St. Petersburg group "North-7". Over the past year, the artists have created several successful group projects, including the North exhibition at the M HKA Antwerp Museum of Contemporary Art as the winner of the Present Continuous 2018 Prize, as well as being shortlisted for the Innovation and Sergey Kuryokhin Prize. The fruitful year the artists decided to end with a series of solo exhibitions, which do not lose their inner connection and do not interrupt the mutual exchange of ideas between the members of the group.

The project "Funny Soil Frutti Land" sums up the intermediate result of a kind of creative research conducted by Alexander Tsikarishvili in recent years. From the phenomenon of "private eclecticism" - modern forms of folk self-realization and "decoration", which are characterized by a desire for sporadic collage of images, textures and disparate elements, deprived of familiar functionality, the artist moves to reflections on "exoticism". The question of exoticism is always the other side of any attempt to talk about nationalism. In his project, Alexander Tsikarishvili's characteristic poetic-absurdist manner emphasizes the peculiar commonality of the mechanisms of creating a national image: peasants and cowboys, serials and bananas, brilliant wrappers and homemade statues - all merged into a single lump, driven by the inertia of the media industry's machine.

The starting point for the project was a rethinking of the movement of tropicalism or tropicalism, which arose among the avant-garde Brazilian artists of the 1960s, and the idea of "cultural cannibalism" on which it was based. The artist continues the line of subsequent mutations that tropicalism has undergone, including a series of paradoxical parallels, mixtures and redefinitions of what Elio Otisica called "Tropicamp". Countless shades of earth and exotic fruits, ritual silent masks, golems and statues, Latin American Madonna and Carmen Miranda (Hollywood star and camp icon, called only 'tutti-frutti hat girl') form a crazy media-cliché carnival. Riding in the garbage, continuously produced by a media machine, the author collects his own "self-building", an absurd form that becomes a crooked mirror of the ideological mechanisms used to maintain and renew the national myth.

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Аренда: +7 (495) 023 28 57
Кассы: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Выставка

Александр Цикаришвили
FUNNY SOIL FRUTTI LAND

03 Декабря — 03 Марта 2020
22 Галерея OVCHARENKO
03 Декабря —
03 Марта 2020
22 Галерея OVCHARENKO
Режим работы:

10:00 — 19:00

Пн
Вт
Ср
Чт
Пт
Сб
Вс

Бесплатно

Александр Цикаришвили
FUNNY SOIL FRUTTI LAND

16+

3 декабря открылась персональная выставка Александра Цикаришвили – одного из основателей и лидера петербургской группировки «Север-7». За последний год художники создали несколько успешных групповых проекта, среди которых выставка «Севера» в антверпенском музее современного искусства M HKA в качестве победителей премии Present Continuous 2018, а также вошли в шорт-лист премии Инновация и Премии имени Сергея Курехина. Плодотворный год художники решили завершить серией сольных выставок, не теряющих внутренней связи и не прерывающих взаимный обмен идеями между участниками группы.

Проект «Funny Soil Frutti Land» подводит промежуточный итог своеобразного творческого исследования, проводимого Александром Цикаришвили на протяжении последних лет. От феномена «частной эклектики» - современных форм народного самостроя и «украшательства», для которых характерна тяга к спорадическому коллажированию образов, текстур и разрозненных элементов, лишенных привычной функциональности, художник переходит к размышлениям об «экзотизме». Вопрос об экзотическом всегда является оборотной стороной любой попытки разговора о национальном. В своем проекте в характерной поэтическо-абсурдистской манере Александр Цикаришвили подчеркивает своеобразную общность механизмов создания национального образа: крестьяне и ковбои, сериалы и бананы, блестящие обертки и самодельные истуканы – все сливается в единый ком, движимый инерцией машины медиаиндустрии.

Отправной точкой для проекта послужило переосмысление движения тропикалии или тропикализма, возникшего в среде авангардных бразильских художников 1960-х годов, и идеи «культурного каннибализма», на которую оно опиралось. Художник продолжает линию последующих мутаций, которые претерпел тропикализм, в частности, осмысляя явление, которое Элио Ойтисика назвал «Тропикэмп», серией парадоксальных параллелей, смешений и переопределений. Бесчисленные оттенки земли и экзотичские фрукты, ритуальные безмолвные маски, големы и истуканы, Латино-Американские Мадонны и Кармен Миранда (звезда Голливуда и кэмп-икона, именовавшаяся не иначе как ‘tutti-frutti hat girl’) образуют безумный карнавал из медиа-клеше. Роясь в мусоре, беспрерывно производимом медийной машиной, автор собирает свой собственный «самострой» - абсурдистскую форму, становящуюся кривым зеркалом идеологических механизмов, используемых для поддержания и обновления национального мифа.